U12s Mixed Hockey Team

U12s Mixed Hockey

U12s Mixed Hockey Team

The U12 section is open to both girls and boys. Following our coaching development plan for the U10 section, the U12 hockey sessions build on a skill development focus. Beginners are still catered for and a tiered set-up of beginners and previous experience will cater for all U12 club members.

Sport in an environment of support and quality can help children build confidence and apply themselves to develop and commit to personal development and a team. Our aim is to support every child in their development, through hockey as an outlet, but also as an opportunity to express themselves and build positive connections with those around them.

Join now!

Coaches involved

Joe Gleeson (Director of Junior Hockey) & Ben Boon (GB Development & Surbiton HC) will be delivering the U12’s programme this season. Ben offers a wealth of experience having played for Great Britain U21’s and is currently involved with the GB Development programme. He also plays in the top English league having played for Reading Hockey Club for 5 years, he has now moved to table topping Surbiton Hockey Club for the 2018/19 season. We are excited for Ben to pass on his knowledge to our young players.

Junior helpers, aged 14-18, some who were part of the Merchant Taylors’ School U18 National Champions side will assist the U12’s. They are not only excellent coaches who deliver on their school junior program but they are also the players that are going to help inspire our young players to develop the most.

OMT Hockey Club

Training Schedule

Training for the U12 section is as follows for the 2019/20 season:

  • Sunday mornings, exact timings are to be confirmed.
  • Monday evenings, 17:30 – 18:15, this session will be joint with the U10’s.

The club is also committed to entering the U12 section into the Mercian Hockey League for 2019/20. The league takes the format of  Sunday 7 a-side tournaments, creating a fun and exciting festival hockey atmosphere, a great way for young players to gain their first experience in match situations. The teams will of course be supported by our fantastic coaching team.

Training Dates (Term 1):

  • Sunday 1st September 2019
  • Monday 2nd September 2019
  • Sunday 8th September 2019
  • Monday 9th September 2019
  • Sunday 15th September 2019
  • Monday 16th September 2019
  • Sunday 22nd September 2019
  • Monday 23rd September 2019
  • Sunday 29th September 2019
  • Monday 30th September 2019
  • Sunday 6th October 2019
  • Monday 7th October 2019
  • Sunday 13th October 2019
  • Monday 14th October 2019
  • Sunday 20th October 2019 (HT) – TBC
  • Monday 21st October 2019 (HT) – TBC
  • Sunday 27th October 2019 (HT) – TBC
  • Monday 28th October 2019 (HT) – TBC
  • Sunday 3rd November 2019 (HT) -TBC
  • Monday 4th November 2019
  • Sunday 10th November 2019
  • Monday 11th November 2019
  • Sunday 17th November 2019
  • Monday 18th November 2019
  • Sunday 24th November 2019
  • Monday 25th November 2019
  • Sunday 1st December 2019
  • Monday 2nd December 2019
  • Sunday 8th December 2019
  • Monday 9th December 2019

Training Dates (Term 2):

  • Sunday 12th January 2020
  • Monday 13th January 2020
  • Sunday 19th January 2020
  • Monday 20th January 2020
  • Sunday 26th January 2020
  • Monday 27th January 2020
  • Sunday 2nd February 2020
  • Monday 3rd February 2020
  • Sunday 9th February 2020
  • Monday 10th February 2020
  • Sunday 16th February 2020 (HT) TBC
  • Monday 17th February 2020 (HT) TBC
  • Sunday 23rd February 2020 (HT) TBC
  • Monday 24th February 2020
  • Sunday 1st March 2020
  • Monday 2nd March 2020
  • Sunday 8th March 2020
  • Monday 9th March 2020
  • Sunday 15th March 2020
  • Monday 16th March 2020
  • Sunday 22nd March 2020
  • Monday 23rd March 2020
  • Sunday 29th March 2020
  • Monday 30th March 2020

Facilities

We have two state-of-the-art water-based astroturfs located next to our fantastic OMT War Memorial Clubhouse, with six modern changing rooms, a discounted bar for members, social and meeting rooms, a viewing balcony and plasma screens with BT and Sky Sports.

Both our pitches and clubhouse are located within the grounds of Merchant Taylors’ School, a safe and friendly environment easily accessible from the M25 and Moor Park Tube Station on the Metropolitan Line.

Our playing and social facilities are second to none.

Join

Our men’s teams have been playing 50 years. We now have a women’s section and as part of our 50th year anniversary have added a Junior’s section that will become a leading light in coaching youth as well as community hockey.